December 8, 2011
-
midnight potty break
a couple other thoughts that came from last weeks plant update...the main one, of course, is the 8 hour day fell thru (as explained in an earlier entry). this new plant manager mentions that we currently have about 1800 employed at our plant; he says we only need about 1/2 that, to run what we have (providing the machines are working good, which they aren't)
. are they going to let half of us go eventually?! that ISO QS 9000 (or whatever quality audit they use) went awful. he said normally a company gets 3 major discrepancies, we got twelve (and a whole bunch of minors)! he then tells us that we have 60 days to "repair and report" back, or risk losing certain automotive accounts (not good!). also, he mentions that we've spent a good $6 million in expediting product to our customer (we seem to always be on the edge of shutting someone's line down. not good!) also, I'm not sure what ever became of the results that these past snap teams, who they employed, just to stand around and observe the process for months, and try and fix "issues", but it appears like that whole thing was a good failure. and on top of all this, we run out of packaging for days on end, having to temporarily pack things in wrong boxes, label them "non-conforming packaging", then have someone repackage these hundreds of boxes into correct boxes, when the correct ones arrive, just to run out of the correct boxes again. it's a damn mess! I have no idea why this place hasn't shut it's doors long ago? just a couple of thoughts about the stalag, while I let the pooperdog out to do her thing.my cold weather mitts came in today (via UPS...still waiting on that coconut that the Kid sent
). they work good! the pooperdog and I take our full mile walk in comfort with my new boots and mitts (well, I was comfortable anyway
. maybe I should find her a sweater). of course, it's only 35F outside, I guess the real test will be when it's below zero and blustery. I check amazon.com for one of those trapper hats. those dorky hats with the faux fur ear flaps. those are relatively cheap. I think I'll get me one of those. they got 'em in plaid, so I can look like Elmer Fudd on our pooperdog walks
. anyway, the dog wants back in from her potty break, and I gotta go back to sleep...
Recent Comments